New York’s
Child Restraint Law

New York’s safety belt law now requires parents to
properly restrain children up to age 7 in an appropriate
child restraint system, based upon the child’s age,
height, weight and vehicle equipment. In addition to the
child-specific requirements on the back of this card,
state law also requires that:

All front seat occupants must be properly restrained,
regardless of age;

All children sitting in the back seat must be properly
restrained until their 16th birthday.

For further information, contact the
New York State Police at www.troopers.state.ny.us
or call your local State Police barracks.

If your child is... The law requires...
He or she must be muat be properly secured in 4 child safety seat
Liner four years old AND | that meets applicable federal safety standards, and is properdy
weighs g fo 40 pounds... | attached to a vehicle by a safety belt or universal child restramt
anchorage (LATCH) system. (N.T.8. Vehiele & Traffie Law,
Section 1220-cf1) and ¢i2))
He or ghe MAY be secured in a booster seat with a lap/shoulder
{**combination”) safety belt, in the event vou do not have a child
safety seat - one equipped with an internal hamess svatem - that
accommedates your child according to mamfacturer’s instructions,
Unicler four years old AND | I all available combiation belts are being nsed to secure other
weighs more than 40 | passengers under age 16, vour child must be seated in a lap belt
ponnds oply, DO NOT use a booster seat with only a lap belt!

I yous vehicle is not equipped with combination belts for
passengers, your child must be seated in a lap belt only, DO NOT
use a hooster seat with only a lap beli! (N 8 Vehicle & Fraffic
Law, Section 122%c(1) and cf2))

4, 5 or 6 vears old AND
i 537" tall ot less, AND
weighs w to 100

ponnds

He or she must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system
{child =eat, booster seat or other approved device), one for which
your child meets the height and weight requirements of the child
restraint manufacturer,

He or she MA'Y be secured in a booster seat with a lap/shoulder
{**combination”) safety belt, if vou do not have a child safety seat -
one equipped with an internal hamess avatem — that accommodates
your child according to manufacturer’s instctions.

If all available combination belis are being nsed to secure other
passengers under age 16, vour child must be seated in a Jap belt
oply, DO NOT use a booster seat with only a lap belt!

I yous vehicle is not equipped with combination belts for
passengers, your child must be seated in a Jap belt onlv, DO NOT
use a hooster seat with only a lap beli! (N.FS Vehicle & Traffic
Law, Section 122%c(!) and cf2))

4, 5, or & years old AND
i more than 57 inches tall,
OR weighs more than 100

pounds....

No hooster seat ie necessary; a safety belt MAY be used alone. It
12 strongly recommended that children eligible fo wear safefy belts
be secured in 2 combination belt rather than a lap belt alone, and
that they be secured in the vehicle’s back seat until seaching age
13. (NES. Vehicle & Traffic Law, Section 1220-¢(3).)
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STATE POLICE

TRF-1

ation, "Child P 's and Air Bags,”

(REV. 12/05)



