New York State Police

Sparkling Devices

While most fireworks remain illegal in New York State, a recent law has authorized counties and cities outside of New York City to legalize the sparklers and certain sparkling devices for those who are over 18 years of age.

It is a crime to provide a sparkler to a person less than 18 years of age, even in the jurisdictions where sparkling devices have been legalized.

The following jurisdictions have opted to legalize sparkling devices:

  • Essex County, effective March 9, 2015
  • Chemung County, effective March 31, 2015
  • Washington County, effective March 31, 2015
  • Saratoga County, effective April 6, 2015
  • Cattaraugus County, effective April 10, 2015
  • Orange County, effective April 10, 2015
  • Herkimer County, effective April 10, 2015
  • Madison County, effective April 20, 2015
  • Yates County, effective April 20, 2015
  • Schuyler County, effective April 21, 2015
  • Fulton County, effective April 24, 2015
  • Warren County, effective April 29, 2015
  • Putnam County, effective May 6, 2015
  • Allegany County, effective May 8, 2015
  • Niagara County, effective May 12, 2015
  • Lewis County, effective May 15, 2015
  • Dutchess County, effective May 18, 2015
  • Montgomery County, effective May 18, 2015
  • Franklin County, effective May 19, 2015
  • Rensselaer County, effective May 19, 2015
  • Wayne County, effective May 27, 2015
  • Ulster County, effective May 27, 2015
  • Sullivan County, effective June 1, 2015
  • Schenectady County, effective June 2, 2015
  • Greene County, effective June 3, 2015
  • Livingston County, effective June 3, 2015
  • Ontario County, effective June 3, 2015
  • Steuben County, effective June 3, 2015
  • Clinton County, effective June 8, 2015
  • Cortland County, effective June 10, 2015
  • St. Lawrence County, effective June 10, 2015
  • Jefferson County, effective July 3, 2015
  • Tioga County, effective August 17, 2015
  • Rockland County, effective September 30, 2015
  • Schoharie County, effective October 29, 2015
  • Cayuga County, effective March 29, 2016
  • Albany County, effective May 24, 2016
  • Chautauqua County, effective June 14, 2016
  • Oneida County, effective July 25, 2016
  • Hamilton County, effective August 12, 2016

For additional information about this law, including information on sales, please visit the New York State Office of Fire Prevention and Control (OFPC) web page at:

http://www.dhses.ny.gov/ofpc/news/sparklingdevices.cfm