POL § 66-a : Accident and Investigative Records Requests
Request Process Pursuant to POL § 66-a
Requests for investigative reports and accident reconstruction reports are often made by or on behalf of insurance companies and by law firms. Requests for a copy of these State Police records (9 NYCRR § 483.6) must be made in writing on company letterhead if applicable and directed to the Central Records Bureau.
Requests should describe the records sought with sufficient specificity to enable the State Police to identify and locate the appropriate records. Include all known identifying information such as:
- Incident Number
- Date and time of incident
- Location of incident
- Type of incident
- Names and dates of birth of individuals involved in the incident
Requests should include contact information about the requestor such as:
- Mailing address
- Telephone number
- Party representing
- Firm / Organization (on letterhead) if applicable
Requests for State Police records (other than the Police Accident Report – MV-104A which are maintained by DMV) should be mailed to:
New York State Police
Central Records Bureau
1220 Washington Avenue, Bldg 22
Albany, New York 12226-2252
Response Process Pursuant to POL § 66-a
The Division of State Police will respond to your request for records with a written acknowledgement. This communication may offer an approximate date when such request will be granted or denied. The response time is subject to the complexity of the request as well as the volume of requests and level of resources at the time of the request.
The Division will notify you of applicable fees; copies of records will not be forwarded until payment is received. If you include the payment with your request, it will be held until the response is processed.
Pursuant to POL § 66-a, the following fee schedule is in effect:
- $15.00 per incident investigation report
- $15.00 per accident reconstruction report
- an additional fee of $15.00 for a certified copy of a report.
Checks or money orders are made payable to the Superintendent of State Police. Be advised that a criminal investigation will be conducted pursuant to New York State Penal Law § 190.05 if a check is returned due to insufficient funds or account closed.